Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Thunderbird Environment Backup Extension

Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby Icarus » Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:18 am

Advice please,

On recommendation I have downloaded FEBE and TEBE but with TEBE I encounter the following-

"TEBE) beta(20090111_192528) could not be installed because it is not compatible with Thunderbird 3.1.1."

regards,
Icarus
Icarus
 

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby cbaker_admin » Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:25 pm

Try TEBEbeta(20100727_120000) available from the TEBE homepage.
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby Wol » Fri Aug 27, 2010 4:31 pm

Until about five days ago my TEBE backups took about 30 seconds, and the backup was in the order of 194Mb.

Now TEBE just hangs: I have let it go on for over 20 minutes without it finishing before I abort, getting the message "A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now or you can continue, to see if the script will complete"

Having stopped the backup, the backup size is around 63 Mb.

I am using Windows seven, TB 3.1.2 and TEBE beta 20100727.120000

Any ideas? TIA.
Wol
 

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby cbaker_admin » Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:25 pm

Tb 3.x suffers from the same script execution problems as Fx 3.x. There is a small tweak in the Tb preferences that will fix it. Follow the steps outlined in this post except get into Tb's about:config by clicking Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> General -> Config Editor (button).
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby Wol » Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:07 am

Thanks Chuck - that worked!

Is the change from 20 to 60 a change to a timeout value? If so, as the TB data increases (with more and more saved emails) would it have to be increased further?
Wol
 

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby Wol » Sat Aug 28, 2010 6:45 pm

>>Thanks Chuck - that worked!<<

I spoke too soon!

I tried a manual backup this morning, and watched as TEBE ran the moving green bar, then froze it for a minute and then started it moving again - I left it for two hours and it was still moving!

I aborted the backup, and the "swoosh" sounded - and in the backup folder there appeared a backup with approximately the correct size of previous ones. Whether it is a viable backup I don't know.
Wol
 

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby cbaker_admin » Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:51 pm

Try setting dom.max_chrome_script_run_time to zero. If TEBE still fails, there is some other issue at play and we can address that. Otherwise it would appear that TEBE is just taking longer to complete than Tb is allowing it to run. Setting the preference to zero effectively turns the timing check off.
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Incompatible with 3.1.1?

Postby Wol » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:20 pm

OK - done that (set the runtime to zero) and will see what transpires.
Wol
 


Return to TEBE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron