Nothing happens

Problems and experiences with my extensions on the Windows 7 platform.

Nothing happens

Postby pson » Sun May 05, 2013 1:59 pm

I have scheduled FEBE to run and it starts but never completes, it always hangs so the only option is to abort.

Check AddonManager functionality lists all my addons in green but at the end my scripts for Greasemonkey shows up in red. They are added as a user-defined backup and are not located in the below directory so don't know why they show up here or why they have an xpi-extension..

Parsing extension directory C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\febeprof.2\extensions
Cannot get information about an extension. GoogleReaderSanity{2.4}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]
Cannot get information about an extension. YouTubeHDSuiteAutoUpdator{null}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]
Cannot get information about an extension. YouTubeHDSuite{3.5.5}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]
Cannot get information about an extension. YouTubeCenter{1.31.1}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]
Cannot get information about an extension. YouTubeAutoBufferAutoHDRemoveAds{1.2.70}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]
Cannot get information about an extension. PimpedTBG{1.2.2}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]
Cannot get information about an extension. Flashscript2{null}.xpi [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH) [nsIFile.append]" nsresult: "0x80520001 (NS_ERROR_FILE_UNRECOGNIZED_PATH)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js :: :: line 527" data: no]


During the "backup" Error Console reports this error:

Warning: ReferenceError: reference to undefined property febeAddons[FEBE_GUID]
Source file: chrome://febe/content/febeCommon.js
Line: 397


The progress window then just runs and runs and after I abort this warning for unresponsive script show, chrome://febe/content/febe.js:2058, and I then press continue and the results report shows a backup that's half done.

I've looked around in the forum and the support pages and tried changing dom.max_chrome_script_run_time, cleared preferences and verified extension directory but without luck.

So what do I try next?
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Sun May 05, 2013 4:48 pm

What versions of FEBE and Firefox are you currently using? The latest available are FEBE 7.3.0 and Firefox 20.0.1 (or .2).
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Sun May 05, 2013 7:25 pm

Doh!
There I was, making sure I posted all the info I had and ended up forgetting the two most obvious ones ;)

FEBE 7.3 and FF 20.0.1
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon May 06, 2013 8:34 am

Are all the extensions in the list you posted displayed in Tools > Add-ons?

Is "Flashscript2" one of the Greasemonkey scripts you mentioned? If so, is there anything in your extensions folder (i.e., "C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\febeprof.2\extensions") that resembles that name?

Do all your extensions reside in the directory referenced in FEBE Options > Advanced > Directory info > Firefox extensions directory?
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Mon May 06, 2013 12:44 pm

The things listed are scripts for Greasemonkey and they are all listed under Tools > Add-ons > User Scripts.

Nothing in extensions folder has a name that looks like Flashscript2, only the names of a few other extensions and folders and files with names like {1280606b-2510-4fe0-97ef-9b5a22eafe80}.xpi. Flashscript2 and all my other scripts are located in 'C:\...\Firefox\Profiles\febeprof.2\gm_scripts'.

As far as I can see all extensions are located in that folder except for AdBlock+ that has a folder for files with settings located directly under the febeprof.2 folder.
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon May 06, 2013 1:27 pm

"Tools > Add-ons > User Scripts"? I don't have such an item in my list. It must be something that Greasemonkey creates. I haven't had occasion to use Greasemonkey, so I can't be sure. In any event, Fx is reporting to FEBE that these are to be treated as extensions and, of course, FEBE can't find them in the extensions directory.

Are they listed in FEBE Options > What to backup > Ignore list? If so, checkbox them so they won't be included in the backup. This won't affect how the "Check AddonManager functionality" routine reports them, but hopefully it will allow the backup to finish.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Mon May 06, 2013 3:51 pm

Yes that's right and guess it's made by Greasemonkey, it has its icon.

No they are not in the ignore list so that's a dead end...
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon May 06, 2013 4:02 pm

Does it hang will all types of FEBE backups? Try a full profile backup, a Selective backup of extensions only, another one with no extensions, etc. If we can narrow it down, a solution may be forthcoming.

Are you getting any FEBE related errors in the error console (Tools > Web Developer > Error Console)? Please install the Console² extension for error checking. It is more comprehensive.

Try this: Open and clear the Error console. Leave it open and perform a backup. After a few seconds (when the progress meter starts moving again) examine the error console for any FEBE related error messages (type febe in the "Search:" box). Copy/paste them here.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Tue May 07, 2013 6:25 pm

Didn't think that the type would matter so never tried changing that. Have had it set on 'Both' but tried just 'Selective' now and then it worked without problems.
Still get the same error as I posted in my first post though and that appears even when I just opens the FEBE options dialog.
But I also get this one
Warning: ReferenceError: reference to undefined property febeProgressWin.document
Source file: chrome://febe/content/febe.js
Line: 1523

Same goes for 'Full profile', it works but the two same errors appears.

So it's only when I try to use 'Both' I'm without luck so guess I'll use one of them if there is'nt an easy fix for it.
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Sun May 12, 2013 3:23 pm

And now even that won't work...
It seems to have something to do with 'Backup permissions' cause it works if I uncheck that one.
Same errors as before but every other time I now get an error for chrome://febe/content/febeZip.js:88 so once again tried changing dom.max_chrome_script_run_time to 0 but no luck.

Any ideas?
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Sun May 12, 2013 5:10 pm

I'm sure it does have something to do with permissions. Changing dom.max_chrome_script_run_time won't have any effect on this type of problem.

What is the complete error message that goes with "chrome://febe/content/febeZip.js:88"?
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Sun May 12, 2013 8:34 pm

Oh sorry, no error as in something that shows in the error console. It's the warning message for unresponsive script that warns for chrome://febe/content/febeZip.js:88
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon May 13, 2013 1:04 pm

I just tried to duplicate the problem by installing Greasemonkey and the GM script "Google Reader Sanity". While I do get the message in "Check AddonManager Functionality" like you do, the backup processes without any problems. I even set up user-defined backup entry to get the [profile]/gm_scripts folder.

So it looks like we are back to permissions problems. Have you checked the permissions on your FEBE backup destination directory?
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: Nothing happens

Postby pson » Mon May 13, 2013 3:17 pm

If it was that kind of permissions problems, wouldn't it be impossible to do a backup at all?
Since the backup completes in full if I click continue so it sounds a little odd.

But yes, there are no problems in accessing the folder or create files in it.
pson
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 12:41 pm

Re: Nothing happens

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon May 13, 2013 3:30 pm

Ok ... did you say that you still get the script timeout even with dom.max_chrome_script_run_time set to zero? In theory, it should never timeout with that setting.

Where is your backup destination directory? Is it an external drive or perhaps some network drive that is slow to communicate with? What happens if you create a new backup folder right off the root? Maybe "C:\FEBE".

You might also try setting dom.max_script_run_time to zero.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Next

Return to Windows 7 issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron