FEBE 7 beta releases

"Firefox Environment Backup Extension" and "Compact Library Extension Organizer" discussion and bug reporting.

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby AMG » Sat Sep 18, 2010 6:40 am

Hi

I have updatet not worked see:
Bild 1.jpg
Bild 1.jpg (22.54 KiB) Viewed 14123 times


:?: :?: :?:
AMG
 

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby cbaker_admin » Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:24 am

You are using the update I released yesterday (FEBE7.0b201009171507)?

Try clearing FEBE preferences - Tools > FEBE > FEBE Options > Advanced
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby AMG » Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:50 am

cbaker_admin wrote:You are using the update I released yesterday (FEBE7.0b201009171507)?

Try clearing FEBE preferences - Tools > FEBE > FEBE Options > Advanced


I have Updated FEBE7.0b201008081616.xpi to FEBE7.0b201009171507.xpi and clearing FEBE preference !!!
The problem for FEBEZIP is when enable How to Backup > Include a copy of FEBE with Backup !!!
And i have a old problem then working no complette backup no end see this:
Image
NO Stoping !!! :( :( :(
AMG
 

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby cbaker_admin » Sat Sep 18, 2010 11:35 am

Are you getting any FEBE related errors in the error console (Tools > Error Console)?

Try this: Open and clear the Error console. Leave it open and perform a backup. After a few seconds (when the progress meter starts moving again) examine the error console for any FEBE related error messages (type febe in the "Search:" box). Copy/paste them here.
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby AMG » Sat Sep 18, 2010 12:25 pm

cbaker_admin wrote:Are you getting any FEBE related errors in the error console (Tools > Error Console)?

Try this: Open and clear the Error console. Leave it open and perform a backup. After a few seconds (when the progress meter starts moving again) examine the error console for any FEBE related error messages (type febe in the "Search:" box). Copy/paste them here.


FEBE error see here:
Bild 2.jpg
Bild 2.jpg (23.64 KiB) Viewed 14106 times
AMG
 

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:30 am

I'm guessing that it has something to do with the locale you are using. The beta versions of FEBE 7 only contain the en-US locale. Unfortunately, I cannot debug the problem until FEBE has been translated.

Sorry :(
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby Gavin77 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:43 pm

I think the problem with the latest beta of FEBE is caused by a recent change to Firefox:
Bug 533038 - Extensions should not be extracted into the profile directory, but installed/stored as XPI file

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=533038

I tried verifying my extension directory and the only ones that had errors were the newly installed ones that are kept as .xpi files, FEBE only seems to recognize the extracted extensions.

"***ERROR: Invalid extension
/home/gavin/.mozilla/firefox/brvpq63q.default/extensions/{4BBDD651-70CF-4821-84F8-2B918CF89CA3}.xpi is not a directory."

FEBE7.0b201009171507
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:2.0b7pre) Gecko/20100920 Firefox/4.0b7pre
Gavin77
 

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby cbaker_admin » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:11 pm

So far, I cannot duplicate the same error you are getting. At least not in Windows Vista. I'm upgrading my Ubuntu VM now and will try there when done.
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby ugoveri » Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:48 am

Hi chuck! I also found this issue with the compressed extensions! Now, on the extensions folder (in the profile folder) only lie files with .xpi extension.
Best regards.
ugoveri
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:44 am

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby cbaker_admin » Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:40 pm

Hmm ... How are you guys getting the xpi in the extensions directory? Every way I try to install any extension (under Windows Vista, anyway) it expands the xpi like it always did. On my Ubuntu VM, however, new extensions are installed as xpis. I've tried using File > Open File... and Tools > Add-ons > Install from file... and installing from AMO.

What os's are you using?
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby Gavin77 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:40 am

cbaker_admin wrote:Hmm ... How are you guys getting the xpi in the extensions directory? Every way I try to install any extension (under Windows Vista, anyway) it expands the xpi like it always did. On my Ubuntu VM, however, new extensions are installed as xpis. I've tried using File > Open File... and Tools > Add-ons > Install from file... and installing from AMO.

What os's are you using?


I'm using Kubuntu 10.04.
Only the latest trunk versions (Minefield) keep the extensions as xpi files, that hasn't been added to the betas yet (should be in 4.0 beta 7).

If you haven't already, you can get the nightly versions from http://nightly.mozilla.org/
Gavin77
 

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby makondo » Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:40 am

It doesn't work for me either. The progress runs non-stop, the folder is created in the specified location but it's empty. No errors. Did reset setting.
BTW, a year or so ago, i've asked you in the MoZine thread if it will be possible to add Import/Export settings to the options window - since it needs the settings reset constantly, it would be a big help. I remember you said it's on the to do list ... did it move up in your list yet?

Vista, Firefox/4.0b7pre ID:20100924043118
makondo
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:25 am

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby kronckew » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:44 pm

streetwolf wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong Chuck. It is my understanding that add-ons running under Fx4 x64 require 64 bit add-ons. FEBE is 32bit.
...


most of my other 32 bit addons were imported and carry on working in the 64bit ff 4.0b7pre without any problems. the only ones that didn't work are due to conflicts with new features in 4.x & they were only 1 or 2 of them.

add-ons run within the browser and thus do not care if 32 or 64 bit, plugins, such as flash DO need specific 32 or 64 bit versions. older addons may come up as 'incompatible with 4.0b7pre' but this is normally due to the version range within the .xpi (really a .zip) not being updated to go to the 4.x. it can be overcome via settings in about:config, "extensions.checkCompatibility" and "extensions.checkCompatibility.4.0b" are booleans that can be set to false to allow older addons. as in all things, caveat emptor, as some 'features' in 4.x use new api calls that can break addons that use old calls that no longer exist... as noted in post no. 1.
kronckew
 

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby ugoveri » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:55 am

I am using Windows XP SP3. And Firefox 4.0b7pre.

The xpi appear on the extensions sub-folder in the profile folder.
ugoveri
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:44 am

Re: FEBE 7 beta releases

Postby cbaker_admin » Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:56 pm

Ok ... I'm very close now to finishing the next beta release. It addresses the new xpi in the extension folder problem. It's taken me longer to fix than usual because of the new asynchronous execution style of javascript functions introduced in Gecko 2.0 which Fx 4.0 uses. To be honest, it is a real pain in the butt having to re-think and re-code my routines to work asynchronously. I'm sure other add-on developers are pulling their hair out over this also.

Anyway, look for a release in the next few days.
Chuck
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4574
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

PreviousNext

Return to FEBE/CLEO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron