FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

"Firefox Environment Backup Extension" and "Compact Library Extension Organizer" discussion and bug reporting.

FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:24 pm

As I'm sure many of you have noticed, Firefox v29 (aka Australis) dramatically changed the look of the user interface. One of these changes was the removal of the add-on bar (statusbar). FEBE uses this bar to display the status icon (resembles a little clock). Since this bar was eliminated, FEBE has no place to show this icon and may stop the backup from finishing. I am working on a fix, but in the meantime there is a way to get around the problem.

If you right-click on the Firefox toolbar and select Customize..., you should see the FEBE clock icon: Image. Drag and drop this icon to anyplace on the toolbar.

FEBE 8.0.2 will have a permanent fix in addition to some other bugs that have cropped up with Australis.

Note: For those of you who prefer the old look of the Fx interface, I recommend the Classic Theme Restorer (Customize Australis) and/or the Status-4-Evar and/or the The Addon Bar (restored) extensions.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Fri May 02, 2014 4:30 pm

FEBE v8.0.2 is available with the Australis fixes.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby Paul Vitti » Sat May 03, 2014 8:01 am

Thanx. I'm able to make a backup now, but still "Quick Backup" doesn't work for me. I read related posts, etc, removed CLEO, as it doesn't work, of course, so I'd like to use quick backup option. All it does - it generates a temp folder which is empty.
Paul Vitti
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:25 am

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Sat May 03, 2014 8:12 am

Put FEBE in debug mode (FEBE Options > Advanced > Miscellaneous > Advanced Preferences). This should open the error console. If it doesn't, click the Toggle browser (error) console button. (Mozilla has been threatening to eliminate the error console for some time now, but you can get it back by installing the Console² extension.)

Make sure the "JS" button in the console is on (click to turn on/off - dark is on, light is off). Run a backup and examine the console for any FEBE related error messages (type febe in the "Search:" box). Copy/paste them here.

You should also try running "Clear FEBE preferences", "Verify extension directory" and "Check AddonManager functionality" in FEBE Options > Advanced > Tools. FEBE will alert you if it finds any problems.

When done, you can hide the error console by unchecking the FEBE debug mode box in FEBE Options > Advanced > Miscellaneous > Advanced Preferences. Or (if you have the browser console open) click the "X" button in the console's upper-right corner.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Sat May 03, 2014 8:19 am

BTW, CLEO v6.0beta is available. It should work with FEBE v8 and Fx 29.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby Paul Vitti » Sat May 03, 2014 8:49 am

THANK YOU for fast reply + CLEO v6.0beta. Long story short - a bunch of errors, I wouldn't paste here, it would be a really LONG list + I experienced some FF crashes, which usually don't happen... (may I use PM, BTW???)...
Anyway, CLEO v6.0beta worked !!! Initially, I followed the link and opted "install" => ended with the same old song. I realized the link leads to the OLD CLEO v5, so I DOWNLOADED v6, and all is well. Please, let me know if you want me to send more details via PM.
Paul Vitti
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:25 am

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Sat May 03, 2014 11:47 am

Sorry about the link ... fixed now.

Yes, if you need to PM, I'm fine with that.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

FEBE missing some extensions

Postby grbradt » Mon May 05, 2014 8:19 pm

Hi,
Using Win 7, FEBE 8.0.2 and Firefox 31...
My selective backup misses NoScript, Inspect Context and Profilist.

When I do 'List Installed Addons', they show as vundefined (unknown):

Adblock Plus v2.6 (extension)
Add-ons Manager Context Menu v0.4.2 (extension)
CLEO v6.0beta (extension)
Canadian Weather v1.5.0 (extension)
Customize Palette (Metal Lion version) v1.0.3 (extension)
DOM Inspector v2.0.14 (extension)
Default v31.0a2 (theme) (disabled)
Disconnect v3.11.0 (extension)
Download Status Bar v9.1.0 (extension)
Element Hiding Helper for Adblock Plus v1.3 (extension)
Extension Auto-Installer v1.2.1 (extension)
FEBE v8.0.2 (extension)
FT DeepDark v10 (theme) (disabled)
GitHub Extension Installer v1.5.0 (extension)
Gmail Notifier (restartless) v0.4.1 (extension)
Greasemonkey v1.15 (extension)
HP Smart Web Printing v4.51 (extension) (disabled)
InspectorWidget v4.04.20121231 (extension)
InstantFox v2.8.8 (extension)
LastPass v3.1.1 (extension)
Lazarus: Form Recovery v2.3 (extension)
Menu Filter v5 (extension)
Metal Lion Australis Scrollbars II v2.0.1.5 (extension)
Metal Lion Australis Tiger SP v2.0.1.7.7 (theme)
NoSquint v2.1.9 (extension)
Open Bookmarks in New Tab v0.1.2012122901 (extension)
Print Edit v12.2 (extension)
Profilist@jetpack.xpi vundefined (unknown)
QuickFox Notes v2.8.4 (extension)
Restartless Restart v9 (extension)
Session Manager v0.8.1.1 (extension)
Show my Password v2.0 (extension)
Simple Clocks v2.4.1 (extension)
Simple Timer v2.0.2 (extension)
Stylish v1.4.3 (extension)
User Style Manager v1.1.1 (extension)
WOT v20131118 (extension)
inspectcontext@max.max.xpi vundefined (unknown)
{73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}.xpi vundefined (unknown)

39 total, 33 extensions, 3 unknowns, 3 themes
grbradt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Tue May 06, 2014 3:42 pm

The vundefined indicates that FEBE cannot determined the version number of the item.

The format for the lines are: ItemName vVersionNumber (extension, theme, plugin or unknown) (disabledFlag)

Examples:
  • FEBE v8.0.2 (extension)
  • FlashGot v1.5.5.98 (extension) (disabled)
  • Clouds & Sunset v1260925626 (theme) (disabled)
  • iTunes Application Detector v1.0.1.1 (plugin)
  • trash vundefined (unknown)

I guess it is a little confusing. Perhaps I should change it so it is more clear.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby grbradt » Tue May 06, 2014 11:27 pm

Hi,
Yes, but it doesn't back them up. I was wondering if it could back them up even with an unknown version number?
grbradt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: FEBE 8.0.1 and Firefox 29 (i.e., Australis)

Postby cbaker_admin » Wed May 07, 2014 1:00 pm

It's not so much the fact there is no version number as it is that FEBE cannot determine if those items are extensions, themes, or plugins. Of the three item listed:

  1. Profilist@jetpack.xpi vundefined (unknown)
  2. inspectcontext@max.max.xpi vundefined (unknown)
  3. {73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}.xpi vundefined (unknown)
all are listed as "(unknown)" for the type. I don't know what the first and third items are, but the second one appears to be the Inspect Context extension. I installed it and FEBE recognized it as a valid extension.

FEBE will only backup what it thinks are extensions or themes but not plugins, so none of those three items will get backed up.
cbaker_admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4389
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ USA


Return to FEBE/CLEO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests